Insurance in Plain English

Reaching the next generation of insurance consumers

A lesson in loyalty from LOST

with 2 comments

As I watched another intense, yet ultimately unsatisfying episode to the soon-to-be off-air show LOST on Tuesday night, I thought to myself: how did I get to this point? How did I, a proud non-television watcher, become absolutely obsessed with this show? I don’t pay for cable, I don’t own a DVR (or even understand them) and I have exactly one TV in my house, used almost exclusively for Netflix.

LOST’s incredible ability to draw a rabid fan base is worthy of note to all small business owners, and insurance agents in particular. Why yes, I am drawing a parallel between LOST and running an agency. Here are some ideas agents can pull from the hit show’s success:

  • Get current clients talking. So to answer my original question of how I became addicted: a friend told me about it. Word of mouth’s power cannot be underestimated; I thought LOST was some kind of Survivor-esque reality show prior to being lent the season one DVDs. Encourage your current clients to tell their friends about your agency. Consider offering discounts or other promotions if they refer you to others. These types of strategies will keep customers coming back.
  • Have the best people. I generally despise the sci-fi/fantasy genre. So how did a show like LOST, steeped in mysterious, inexplicable (so far) mythology grab my attention? The people. The show didn’t start out with (much) fantasy phenomena; instead, the producers focused on character development, making audience members fall in love with their stories lines. The same is true at your agency—by having quality staff, you ensure that you are putting your best customer service foot forward. Once they’re hooked, you can drop creepy smoke monsters and time travel on them.
  • Provide ample resources. Podcasts. Videos. Lostpedia. Blogs. There is no shortage of LOST resources on the web. That way, when I feel like indulging my inner geek, I can scout the ‘net and find out lots of interesting bits of information about the show (e.g., the 23rd Psalm starts “The Lord is my Shepherd,” which is also the number given to Jack Shephard?!?!). You should do the same for your clients. Make sure you have an effective agency website, consider blogging and engage clients through social media.

So next time you’re thinking about customer loyalty, think about LOST. And if all else fails, you can always fake being an expert.

Written by melissa

May 13, 2010 at 3:40 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think stirring the right kind of buzz makes all the difference! In financial services it’s not always easy to get people talking about the mutual funds, portfolios of insurance products they just picked out with their service provider. Instead I tell my clients to get their clients excited about the experience because everyone can relate to that. Your clients might not be “numbers” people but if they love your “character development” (see what I did there…) then you can be sure they will be bragging about you.

    Nunzio Bruno

    May 14, 2010 at 11:39 am

  2. It’s all about the people! Unless, of course, you meet someone who’s entirely excited about discussing inland marine coverage (e.g., me).

    melissa

    May 14, 2010 at 11:55 am


Leave a Reply

