Insurance in Plain English

Reaching the next generation of insurance consumers

National Grammar Day

leave a comment »

Yes, believe it or not, there is an actual holiday dedicated to grammarians everywhere: March 4, National Grammar Day. Heavily promoted my the Grammar Girl, it is a day of reflection and celebration, a day to learn more and to share your knowledge.

While numerous folks around the Web are celebrating in their own special ways, I’ve opted to recognize NGD via confession, to my greatest grammar sins and/or hangups.

  1. Splitting infinitives. I always seem to think it sounds better that way.
  2. Hating on the ampersand. For no apparent reason. I see them, and my red pen will explode all over the page.
  3. Not sticking to my allotted exclamation points. I was once told I could only use a three a year.

Hopefully, this NGD will be a painful reminder to me to focus on these areas and attack them with gusto.

Written by melissa

March 4, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Posted in Writing

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

