Insurance in Plain English

Reaching the next generation of insurance consumers

On writing a beginning

leave a comment »

I’ve been thinking for quite a while how exactly to launch this blog. Blogging is something that I inherently know I should do, and that I want to do. But it’s the actual act of doing it that’s escaped me.

So I’ll take a cue from the famous fiction authors who were was recently featured in The Guardian in a series called “Ten Rules for Fiction Writing,” asking, as you might expect, each author’s rules for being a successful writer. I thought this might be prudent to consider in my latest (and by latest, I mean approximately tenth attempt) at becoming a consistent and effective blogger.

Irish novelist Colm Toibin is straightforward:
  • Finish everything you start.
  • Get on with it.
Getting on with it seems to have been my main problem with blogging. I kept telling myself, “I’ll write a blog post when XYZ …” But X, Y or Z never seemed to occur.

Scottish crime writer Ian Rankin gives tips that are brief, but important:
  • Read lots.
  • Write lots.
  • Don’t give up.
  • Get lucky.
  • Stay lucky.
Advice from Pulitzer prize winning American novelist Ricard Ford was more … practical:
  • Marry somebody you love and who thinks you being a writer’s a good idea.
  • Don’t have children.
  • Don’t take any shit if you can ­possibly help it.
In the end, however, I think I’ll take my cue from English author P.D. James:
  • Don’t just plan to write – write. It is only by writing, not dreaming about it, that we develop our own style.
So here I go, no longer just planning to write (as evidenced by the nagging Post-It note sitting on my desk for days now), but actually writing. I’ll let you know how it goes.
Written by melissa

March 4, 2010 at 12:47 pm

Posted in Writing

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

